Like us on Facebook

Please wait..10 Seconds Cancel
Showing posts with label November 28. Show all posts
Showing posts with label November 28. Show all posts

Insurance Case Digest: Palileo v. Cosio (1955)

G.R. No. L-7667           November 28, 1955

Lessons Applicable: Mortgagor (Insurance)
Laws Applicable: 

FACTS:

  • Cherie Palileo (debtor-mortgagor) filed a complaint against Beatriz Cosio (creditor-mortgagee) praying that their transaction be one of a loan with an equitable mortgage to secure the payment of the loan.  The original counsel of Cosio Atty. Guerrero being appointed Undersecretary of Foreign Affairs so she forgot the date of the trial and she was substituted.
  • it is a loan of P12,000 secured by a "Conditional Sale of Residential Building" with right to repurchase.  After the execution of the contract, Cosio insured in her name the building with Associated Insurance & Surety Co. against fire.
  • The building was partly destroyed by fire so she claimed an indemnity of P13,107
  • Palileo demanded that the amount of insurance proceeds be credited to her loan
  • RTC: it is a loan with equitable mortgage so the insurance proceeds should be credited to the loan and refund the overpayment.
ISSUE: W/N Cosio as mortgagee is entitled to the insurance proceeds for her own benefit

HELD: YES.  Modify.  collection of insurance proceeds shall not be deemed to have compensated the obligation of the Palileo to Cosio, but bars the Cosio from claiming its payment from the Palileo; and Cosio shall pay to Palileo P810 representing the overpayment made by Palileo by way of interest on the loan. 
  • When the the mortgagee may insure his interest in the property independently of the mortgagor , upon the destruction of the property the insurance money paid to the mortgagee will not inure to the benefit of the mortgagor, and the amount due under the mortgage debt remains unchanged.  The mortgagee, however, is not allowed to retain his claim against the mortgagor, but it passes by subrogation to the insurer, to the extent of the insurance money paid
  • It is true that there are authorities which hold that "If a mortgagee procures insurance on his separate interest at his own expense and for his own benefit, without any agreement with the mortgagor with respect thereto, the mortgagor has no interest in the policy, and is not entitled to have the insurance proceeds applied in reduction of the mortgage debt" But these authorities merely represent the minority view 

Jurisprudence: G.R. No. L-7667


EN BANC

G.R. No. L-7667           November 28, 1955

CHERIE PALILEO, plaintiff-appellee,
vs.
BEATRIZ COSIO, defendant-appellant.

Claro M. Recto for appellant.
Bengson, Villegas, Jr. and Villar for appellee.

BAUTISTA ANGELO, J.:

Plaintiff filed a complaint against defendant in the Court of First Instance of Manila praying that (1) the transaction entered into between them on December 18, 1951 be declared as one of loan, and the document executed covering the transaction as one of equitable mortgage to secure the payment of said loan; (2) the defendant be ordered to credit to the plaintiff with the necessary amount from the sum received by the defendant from the Associated Insurance & Surety Co., Inc. and to apply the same to the payment of plaintiff's obligation thus considering it as fully paid; and (3) the defendant be ordered to pay to plaintiff the difference between the alleged indebtedness of plaintiff and the sum received by defendant from the aforementioned insurance company, plus the sum allegedly paid to defendant as interest on the alleged indebtedness.

On December 19, 1952, defendant filed her answer setting up as special defense that the transaction entered into between the plaintiff and defendant is one of sale with option to repurchase but that the period for repurchase had expired without plaintiff having returned the price agreed upon as a result of which the ownership of the property had become consolidated in the defendant. Defendant also set up certain counterclaims which involve a total amount of P4,900.

On April 7, 1953, the case was set for trial on the merits, but because of several postponements asked by the parties, the same has to be set anew for trial on January 12, 1954. On this date, neither the defendant nor her counsel appeared, even if the latter had been notified of the postponement almost a month earlier, and so the court received the evidence of the plaintiff. On January 18, 1954, the court, having in view the evidence presented, rendered judgment granting the relief prayed for in the complaint.

On February 2, 1954, the original counsel for the defendant was substituted and the new counsel immediately moved that the judgment be set aside on the ground that, due to mistake or excusable negligence, defendant was unable to present her evidence and the decision was contrary to law, and this motion having been denied, defendant took the present appeal.

The important issue to be determined in this appeal is whether the lower court committed a grave abuse of discretion in not reopening the case to give defendant an opportunity to present her evidence considering that the failure of her original counsel to appear was due to mistake or execusable negligence which ordinary prudence could not have guarded against.

The original counsel of defendant was Atty. Leon Ma. Guerrero. As early as February 11, 1953, said counsel showed interest in the early disposal of this case by moving the court to have it set for trial. The first date set was April 7, 1953, but no hearing was had on that date because plaintiff had moved to postpone it. The case was next set for hearing on April 28, 1953, but on motion again of plaintiff, the hearing was transferred to November 6, 1953. Then, upon petition of defendant, the trial had to be moved to December 15, 1953, and because Atty. Guerrero could not appear on said date because of a case he had in Cebu City, the hearing was postponed to January 18, 1954.

And on January 4, 1954, or nineteen days after receiving the notice of hearing, Atty. Guerrero was appointed Undersecretary of Foreign Affairs. It is now contended that the appointment was so sudden and unexpected that Atty. Guerrero, after taking his oath, was unable to wind up his private cases or make any preparation at all. It is averred that "The days that followed his appointment were very busy days for defendant's former counsel. There was an immediate need for clearing the backlog of official business, including the reorganization of the Department of Foreign Affairs and our Foreign Service, and more importantly, he had to assist the Secretary of Foreign Affairs in negotiations of national importance like the Japanese reparations, and the revision of the trade agreement with the United States, that, Atty. Guerrero had to work as much as fourteen hours daily . . . Because of all these unavoidable confusion that followed in the wake of Atty. Guerrero's sudden and unexpected appointment, the trial of this case scheduled for January 18, 1954 escaped his memory, and consequently, Atty. Guerrero and the defendant were unable to appear when the case was called for trial." These reasons, — it is intimated, — constitute excusable negligence which ordinary prudence could not have guarded against and should have been considered by the trial court as sufficient justification to grant the petition of defendant for a rehearing.

It is a well-settled rule that the granting of a motion to set aside a judgment or order on the ground of mistake or excusable negligence is addressed to the sound discretion of the court (see Coombs vs. Santos, 24 Phil., 446; Daipan vs. Sigabu, 25, Phil., 184). And an order issued in the exercise of such discretion is ordinarily not to be disturbed unless it is shown that the court has gravely abused such discretion. (See Tell vs. Tell, 48 Phil., 70; Macke vs. Camps, 5 Phil., 185; Calvo vs. De Gutierrez, 4 Phil., 203; Manzanares vs. Moreta, 38 Phil., 821; Salva vs. Palacio and Leuterio, 90 Phil., 731.) In denying the motion for reopening the trial court said: "After going over the same arguments, this Court is of the opinion, and so holds that the decision of this Court of January 18, 1954 should not be disturbed." Considering the stature, ability and experience of counsel Leon Ma. Guerrero, and the fact that he was given almost one month notice before the date set for trial, we are persuaded to conclude that the trial court did not abuse its discretion in refusing to reconsider its decision.

Coming now to the merits of the case, we note that the lower court made the following findings: On December 18, 1951, plaintiff obtained from defendant a loan in the sum of P12,000 subject to the following conditions: (a) that plaintiff shall pay to defendant an interest in the amount of P250 a month; (b) that defendant shall deduct from the loan certain obligations of plaintiff to third persons amounting to P4,550, plus the sum of P250 as interest for the first month; and (c) that after making the above deductions, defendant shall deliver to plaintiff only the balance of the loan of P12,000.

Pursuant to their agreement, plaintiff paid to defendant as interest on the loan a total of P2,250.00 corresponding to nine months from December 18, 1951, on the basis of P250.00 a month, which is more than the maximum interest authorized by law. To secure the payment of the aforesaid loan, defendant required plaintiff to sign a document known as "Conditional Sale of Residential Building", purporting to convey to defendant, with right to repurchase, a two-story building of strong materials belonging to plaintiff. This document did not express the true intention of the parties which was merely to place said property as security for the payment of the loan.

After the execution of the aforesaid document, defendant insured the building against fire with the Associated Insurance & Surety Co., Inc. for the sum of P15,000, the insurance policy having been issued in the name of defendant. The building was partly destroyed by fire and, after proper demand, defendant collected from the insurance company an indemnity of P13,107.00. Plaintiff demanded from defendant that she be credited with the necessary amount to pay her obligation out of the insurance proceeds but defendant refused to do so. And on the strength of these facts, the court rendered decision the dispositive part of which reads as follows:

Wherefore, judgment is hereby rendered declaring the transaction had between plaintiff and defendant, as shown in Exhibit A, an equitable mortgage to secure the payment of the sum of P12,000 loaned by the defendant to plaintiff; ordering the defendant to credit the sum of P13,107 received by the defendant from the Associated Insurance & surety Co., Inc. to the payment of plaintiff's obligation in the sum of P12,000.00 as stated in the complaint, thus considering the agreement of December 18, 1951 between the herein plaintiff and defendant completely paid and leaving still a balance in the sum of P1,107 from the insurance collected by defendant; that as plaintiff had paid to the defendant the sum of P2,250.00 for nine months as interest on the sum of P12,000 loaned to plaintiff and the legal interest allowed by law in this transaction does not exceed 12 per cent per annum, or the sum of P1,440 for one year, so the herein plaintiff and overpaid the sum of P810 to the defendant, which this Court hereby likewise orders the said defendant to refund to herein plaintiff, plus the balance of P1,107 representing the difference of the sum loan of P12,000 and the collected insurance of P13,107 from the insurance company abovementioned to which the herein plaintiff is entitled to receive, and to pay the costs.

The question that now arises is: Is the trial court justified in considering the obligation of plaintiff fully compensated by the insurance amount and in ordering defendant to refund to plaintiff the sum of P1,107 representing the difference of the loan of P12,000 and the sum of P13,107 collected by said defendant from the insurance company notwithstanding the fact that it was not proven that the insurance was taken for the benefit of the mortgagor?

Is is our opinion that on this score the court is in error for its ruling runs counter to the rule governing an insurance taken by a mortgagee independently of the mortgagor. The rule is that "where a mortgagee, independently of the mortgagor, insures the mortgaged property in his own name and for his own interest, he is entitled to the insurance proceeds in case of loss, but in such case, he is not allowed to retain his claim against the mortgagor, but is passed by subrogation to the insurer to the extent of the money paid." (Vance on Insurance, 2d ed., p. 654)Or, stated in another way, "the mortgagee may insure his interest in the property independently of the mortgagor. In that event, upon the destruction of the property the insurance money paid to the mortgagee will not inure to the benefit of the mortgagor, and the amount due under the mortgage debt remains unchanged. The mortgagee, however, is not allowed to retain his claim against the mortgagor, but it passes by subrogation to the insurer, to the extent of the insurance money paid." (Vance on Insurance, 3rd ed., pp. 772-773) This is the same rule upheld by this Court in a case that arose in this jurisdiction. In the case mentioned, an insurance contract was taken out by the mortgagee upon his own interest, it being stipulated that the proceeds would be paid to him only and when the case came up for decision, this Court held that the mortgagee, in case of loss, may only recover upon the policy to the extent of his credit at the time of the loss. It was declared that the mortgaged had no right of action against the mortgagee on the policy. (San Miguel Brewery vs. Law Union, 40 Phil., 674.)

It is true that there are authorities which hold that "If a mortgagee procures insurance on his separate interest at his own expense and for his own benefit, without any agreement with the mortgagor with respect thereto, the mortgagor has no interest in the policy, and is not entitled to have the insurance proceeds applied in reduction of the mortgage debt" (19 R.C.L., p. 405), and that, furthermore, the mortgagee "has still a right to recover his whole debt of the mortgagor." (King vs. State Mut. F. Ins. Co., 7 Cush. 1; Suffolk F. Ins. Co. vs. Boyden 9 Allen, 123; See also Loomis vs. Eagle Life & Health Ins. Co., 6 Gray, 396; Washington Mills Emery Mfg. Co. vs. Weymouth & B. Mut. F. Ins. Co., 135 Mass. 506; Foster vs. Equitable Mut. F. Ins. Co., 2 Gray 216.) But these authorities merely represent the minority view (See case note, 3 Lawyers' Report Annotated, new series, p. 79). "The general rule and the weight of authority is, that the insurer is thereupon subrogated to the rights of the mortgagee under the mortgage. This is put upon the analogy of the situation of the insurer to that of a surety." (Jones on Mortgages, Vol. I, pp. 671-672.)

Considering the foregoing rules, it would appear that the lower court erred in declaring that the proceeds of the insurance taken out by the defendant on the property mortgaged inured to the benefit of the plaintiff and in ordering said defendant to deliver to the plaintiff the difference between her indebtedness and the amount of insurance received by the defendant, for, in the light of the majority rule we have above enunciated, the correct solution should be that the proceeds of the insurance should be delivered to the defendant but that her claim against the plaintiff should be considered assigned to the insurance company who is deemed subrogated to the rights of the defendant to the extent of the money paid as indemnity.

Consistent with the foregoing pronouncement, we therefore modify the judgment of the lower court as follows:(1) the transaction had between the plaintiff and defendant as shown in Exhibit A is merely an equitable mortgage intended to secure the payment of the loan of P12,000;(2) that the proceeds of the insurance amounting to P13,107.00 was properly collected by defendant who is not required to account for it to the plaintiff; (3) that the collection of said insurance proceeds shall not be deemed to have compensated the obligation of the plaintiff to the defendant, but bars the latter from claiming its payment from the former; and (4) defendant shall pay to the plaintiff the sum of P810.00 representing the overpayment made by plaintiff by way of interest on the loan. No pronouncement as to costs.

Bengzon, Montemayor, Reyes, A., Jugo, Labrador , Concepcion, and Reyes, J.B.L., JJ., concur.

Insurance Case Digest: Filipino Merchants Insurance Co. v. CA (1989)


G.R. No. 85141   November 28, 1989

Lessons Applicable: Existing Interest (Insurance)
Laws Applicable: Article 1523 of the Civil Code,Section 13 of the Insurance Code
 
FACTS:

  • Choa Tiek Seng, consignee of the shipment of fishmeal loaded, insured in "all risks policy" 600 metric tons of fishmeal in new gunny bags of 90 kilos each from Bangkok, Thailand to Manila against all risks under warehouse to warehouse terms but only 59.940 metric tons was imported 
  • When it was unloaded unto the arrastre contractor E. Razon, Inc. and Filipino Merchants's surveyor ascertained and certified that in such discharge 105 bags were in bad order condition which was reflected in the survey report of Bad Order cargoes
  • Before delivery to Choa, E. Razon's Bad Order Certificate showed that a total of 227 bags in bad order condition
  • Choa brought an action against Filipino Merchants Insurance Co. who brought a third party complaint against  Compagnie Maritime Des Chargeurs Reunis and/or E. Razon, Inc.
  • RTC: Ordered Filipino Merchants to pay Choa and reimbursefrom Compagnie Maritime Des Chargeurs Reunis and third party defendant E. Razon, Inc.
  • CA: Affirmed but modified by adjudicating the third party complaint
    • Filipino Merchants contended that Chao has no insurable interest and therefore the policy should be void and that it was fraud that it did not disclose of such fact 
ISSUE: W/N Choa Tiek Seng as consignee of the shipment has insurable interest

HELD: YES. CA affirmed.

  • GR: the burden of proof is upon the insured to show that a loss arose from a covered peril, but under an "all risks" policy the burden is not on the insured to prove the precise cause of loss or damage for which it seeks compensation. The insured under an "all risks insurance policy" has the initial burden of proving that the cargo was in good condition when the policy attached and that the cargo was damaged when unloaded from the vessel; thereafter, the burden then shifts to the insurer to show the exception to the coverage. - none was shown = liable
  • Section 13 of the Insurance Code defines insurable interest in property as every interest in property, whether real or personal, or any relation thereto, or liability in respect thereof, of such nature that a contemplated peril might directly damnify the insured.
  • As vendee/consignee of the goods in transit has such existing interest. His interest over the goods is based on the perfected contract of sale. The perfected contract of sale between him and the shipper of the goods operates to vest in him an equitable title even before delivery or before be performed the conditions of the sale.  The contract of shipment, whether under F.O.B., C.I.F., or C. & F. as in this case, is immaterial in the determination of whether the vendee has an insurable interest or not in the goods in transit.
  • Article 1523 of the Civil Code provides that where, in pursuance of a contract of sale, the seller is authorized or required to send the goods to the buyer, delivery of the goods to a carrier, whether named by the buyer or not, for, the purpose of transmission to the buyer is deemed to be a delivery of the goods to the buyer, the exceptions to said rule not obtaining in the present case. The Court has heretofore ruled that the delivery of the goods on board the carrying vessels partake of the nature of actual delivery since, from that time, the foreign buyers assumed the risks of loss of the goods and paid the insurance premium covering them
  • C & F contracts are shipment contracts. The term means that the price fixed includes in a lump sum the cost of the goods and freight to the named destination. It simply means that the seller must pay the costs and freight necessary to bring the goods to the named destination but the risk of loss or damage to the goods is transferred from the seller to the buyer when the goods pass the ship's rail in the port of shipment.  
  • Moreover, the issue of lack of insurable interest was not among the defenses averred in petitioners answer. 

Jurisprudence: G.R. No. 85141


SECOND DIVISION


G.R. No. 85141 November 28, 1989


FILIPINO MERCHANTS INSURANCE CO., INC., petitioner, 
vs.
COURT OF APPEALS and CHOA TIEK SENG, respondents.


Balgos & Perez Law Offices for petitioner.


Lapuz Law office for private respondent.





REGALADO, J.:


This is a review of the decision of the Court of Appeals, promulgated on July 19,1988, the dispositive part of which reads:


WHEREFORE, the judgment appealed from is affirmed insofar as it orders defendant Filipino Merchants Insurance Company to pay the plaintiff the sum of P51,568.62 with interest at legal rate from the date of filing of the complaint, and is modified with respect to the third party complaint in that (1) third party defendant E. Razon, Inc. is ordered to reimburse third party plaintiff the sum of P25,471.80 with legal interest from the date of payment until the date of reimbursement, and (2) the third-party complaint against third party defendant Compagnie Maritime Des Chargeurs Reunis is dismissed. 1


The facts as found by the trial court and adopted by the Court of Appeals are as follows:


This is an action brought by the consignee of the shipment of fishmeal loaded on board the vessel SS Bougainville and unloaded at the Port of Manila on or about December 11, 1976 and seeks to recover from the defendant insurance company the amount of P51,568.62 representing damages to said shipment which has been insured by the defendant insurance company under Policy No. M-2678. The defendant brought a third party complaint against third party defendants Compagnie Maritime Des Chargeurs Reunis and/or E. Razon, Inc. seeking judgment against the third (sic) defendants in case Judgment is rendered against the third party plaintiff. It appears from the evidence presented that in December 1976, plaintiff insured said shipment with defendant insurance company under said cargo Policy No. M-2678 for the sum of P267,653.59 for the goods described as 600 metric tons of fishmeal in new gunny bags of 90 kilos each from Bangkok, Thailand to Manila against all risks under warehouse to warehouse terms. Actually, what was imported was 59.940 metric tons not 600 tons at $395.42 a ton CNF Manila. The fishmeal in 666 new gunny bags were unloaded from the ship on December 11, 1976 at Manila unto the arrastre contractor E. Razon, Inc. and defendant's surveyor ascertained and certified that in such discharge 105 bags were in bad order condition as jointly surveyed by the ship's agent and the arrastre contractor. The condition of the bad order was reflected in the turn over survey report of Bad Order cargoes Nos. 120320 to 120322, as Exhibit C-4 consisting of three (3) pages which are also Exhibits 4, 5 and 6- Razon. The cargo was also surveyed by the arrastre contractor before delivery of the cargo to the consignee and the condition of the cargo on such delivery was reflected in E. Razon's Bad Order Certificate No. 14859, 14863 and 14869 covering a total of 227 bags in bad order condition. Defendant's surveyor has conducted a final and detailed survey of the cargo in the warehouse for which he prepared a survey report Exhibit F with the findings on the extent of shortage or loss on the bad order bags totalling 227 bags amounting to 12,148 kilos, Exhibit F-1. Based on said computation the plaintiff made a formal claim against the defendant Filipino Merchants Insurance Company for P51,568.62 (Exhibit C) the computation of which claim is contained therein. A formal claim statement was also presented by the plaintiff against the vessel dated December 21, 1976, Exhibit B, but the defendant Filipino Merchants Insurance Company refused to pay the claim. Consequently, the plaintiff brought an action against said defendant as adverted to above and defendant presented a third party complaint against the vessel and the arrastre contractor. 2


The court below, after trial on the merits, rendered judgment in favor of private respondent, the decretal portion whereof reads:


WHEREFORE, on the main complaint, judgment is hereby rendered in favor of the plaintiff and against the defendant Filipino Merchant's (sic) Insurance Co., ordering the defendants to pay the plaintiff the following amount:


The sum of P51,568.62 with interest at legal rate from the date of the filing of the complaint;


On the third party complaint, the third party defendant Compagnie Maritime Des Chargeurs Reunis and third party defendant E. Razon, Inc. are ordered to pay to the third party plaintiff jointly and severally reimbursement of the amounts paid by the third party plaintiff with legal interest from the date of such payment until the date of such reimbursement.


Without pronouncement as to costs. 3


On appeal, the respondent court affirmed the decision of the lower court insofar as the award on the complaint is concerned and modified the same with regard to the adjudication of the third-party complaint. A motion for reconsideration of the aforesaid decision was denied, hence this petition with the following assignment of errors:


1. The Court of Appeals erred in its interpretation and application of the "all risks" clause of the marine insurance policy when it held the petitioner liable to the private respondent for the partial loss of the cargo, notwithstanding the clear absence of proof of some fortuitous event, casualty, or accidental cause to which the loss is attributable, thereby contradicting the very precedents cited by it in its decision as well as a prior decision of the same Division of the said court (then composed of Justices Cacdac, Castro-Bartolome, and Pronove);


2. The Court of Appeals erred in not holding that the private respondent had no insurable interest in the subject cargo, hence, the marine insurance policy taken out by private respondent is null and void;


3. The Court of Appeals erred in not holding that the private respondent was guilty of fraud in not disclosing the fact, it being bound out of utmost good faith to do so, that it had no insurable interest in the subject cargo, which bars its recovery on the policy. 4


On the first assignment of error, petitioner contends that an "all risks" marine policy has a technical meaning in insurance in that before a claim can be compensable it is essential that there must be "some fortuity, " "casualty" or "accidental cause" to which the alleged loss is attributable and the failure of herein private respondent, upon whom lay the burden, to adduce evidence showing that the alleged loss to the cargo in question was due to a fortuitous event precludes his right to recover from the insurance policy. We find said contention untenable.


The "all risks clause" of the Institute Cargo Clauses read as follows:


5. This insurance is against all risks of loss or damage to the subject-matter insured but shall in no case be deemed to extend to cover loss, damage, or expense proximately caused by delay or inherent vice or nature of the subject-matter insured. Claims recoverable hereunder shall be payable irrespective of percentage. 5


An "all risks policy" should be read literally as meaning all risks whatsoever and covering all losses by an accidental cause of any kind. The terms "accident" and "accidental", as used in insurance contracts, have not acquired any technical meaning. They are construed by the courts in their ordinary and common acceptance. Thus, the terms have been taken to mean that which happens by chance or fortuitously, without intention and design, and which is unexpected, unusual and unforeseen. An accident is an event that takes place without one's foresight or expectation; an event that proceeds from an unknown cause, or is an unusual effect of a known cause and, therefore, not expected. 6


The very nature of the term "all risks" must be given a broad and comprehensive meaning as covering any loss other than a willful and fraudulent act of the insured. 7 This is pursuant to the very purpose of an "all risks" insurance to give protection to the insured in those cases where difficulties of logical explanation or some mystery surround the loss or damage to property. 8 An "all asks" policy has been evolved to grant greater protection than that afforded by the "perils clause," in order to assure that no loss can happen through the incidence of a cause neither insured against nor creating liability in the ship; it is written against all losses, that is, attributable to external causes. 9


The term "all risks" cannot be given a strained technical meaning, the language of the clause under the Institute Cargo Clauses being unequivocal and clear, to the effect that it extends to all damages/losses suffered by the insured cargo except (a) loss or damage or expense proximately caused by delay, and (b) loss or damage or expense proximately caused by the inherent vice or nature of the subject matter insured.


Generally, the burden of proof is upon the insured to show that a loss arose from a covered peril, but under an "all risks" policy the burden is not on the insured to prove the precise cause of loss or damage for which it seeks compensation. The insured under an "all risks insurance policy" has the initial burden of proving that the cargo was in good condition when the policy attached and that the cargo was damaged when unloaded from the vessel; thereafter, the burden then shifts to the insurer to show the exception to the coverage. 10 As we held in Paris-Manila Perfumery Co. vs. Phoenix Assurance Co., Ltd. 11 the basic rule is that the insurance company has the burden of proving that the loss is caused by the risk excepted and for want of such proof, the company is liable.


Coverage under an "all risks" provision of a marine insurance policy creates a special type of insurance which extends coverage to risks not usually contemplated and avoids putting upon the insured the burden of establishing that the loss was due to the peril falling within the policy's coverage; the insurer can avoid coverage upon demonstrating that a specific provision expressly excludes the loss from coverage. 12 A marine insurance policy providing that the insurance was to be "against all risks" must be construed as creating a special insurance and extending to other risks than are usually contemplated, and covers all losses except such as arise from the fraud of the insured. 13 The burden of the insured, therefore, is to prove merely that the goods he transported have been lost, destroyed or deteriorated. Thereafter, the burden is shifted to the insurer to prove that the loss was due to excepted perils. To impose on the insured the burden of proving the precise cause of the loss or damage would be inconsistent with the broad protective purpose of "all risks" insurance.


In the present case, there being no showing that the loss was caused by any of the excepted perils, the insurer is liable under the policy. As aptly stated by the respondent Court of Appeals, upon due consideration of the authorities and jurisprudence it discussed —


... it is believed that in the absence of any showing that the losses/damages were caused by an excepted peril, i.e. delay or the inherent vice or nature of the subject matter insured, and there is no such showing, the lower court did not err in holding that the loss was covered by the policy.


There is no evidence presented to show that the condition of the gunny bags in which the fishmeal was packed was such that they could not hold their contents in the course of the necessary transit, much less any evidence that the bags of cargo had burst as the result of the weakness of the bags themselves. Had there been such a showing that spillage would have been a certainty, there may have been good reason to plead that there was no risk covered by the policy (See Berk vs. Style [1956] cited in Marine Insurance Claims, Ibid, p. 125). Under an 'all risks' policy, it was sufficient to show that there was damage occasioned by some accidental cause of any kind, and there is no necessity to point to any particular cause. 14


Contracts of insurance are contracts of indemnity upon the terms and conditions specified in the policy. The agreement has the force of law between the parties. The terms of the policy constitute the measure of the insurer's liability. If such terms are clear and unambiguous, they must be taken and understood in their plain, ordinary and popular sense. 15


Anent the issue of insurable interest, we uphold the ruling of the respondent court that private respondent, as consignee of the goods in transit under an invoice containing the terms under "C & F Manila," has insurable interest in said goods.


Section 13 of the Insurance Code defines insurable interest in property as every interest in property, whether real or personal, or any relation thereto, or liability in respect thereof, of such nature that a contemplated peril might directly damnify the insured. In principle, anyone has an insurable interest in property who derives a benefit from its existence or would suffer loss from its destruction whether he has or has not any title in, or lien upon or possession of the property y. 16 Insurable interest in property may consist in (a) an existing interest; (b) an inchoate interest founded on an existing interest; or (c) an expectancy, coupled with an existing interest in that out of which the expectancy arises. 17


Herein private respondent, as vendee/consignee of the goods in transit has such existing interest therein as may be the subject of a valid contract of insurance. His interest over the goods is based on the perfected contract of sale. 18 The perfected contract of sale between him and the shipper of the goods operates to vest in him an equitable title even before delivery or before be performed the conditions of the sale. 19 The contract of shipment, whether under F.O.B., C.I.F., or C. & F. as in this case, is immaterial in the determination of whether the vendee has an insurable interest or not in the goods in transit. The perfected contract of sale even without delivery vests in the vendee an equitable title, an existing interest over the goods sufficient to be the subject of insurance.


Further, Article 1523 of the Civil Code provides that where, in pursuance of a contract of sale, the seller is authorized or required to send the goods to the buyer, delivery of the goods to a carrier, whether named by the buyer or not, for, the purpose of transmission to the buyer is deemed to be a delivery of the goods to the buyer, the exceptions to said rule not obtaining in the present case. The Court has heretofore ruled that the delivery of the goods on board the carrying vessels partake of the nature of actual delivery since, from that time, the foreign buyers assumed the risks of loss of the goods and paid the insurance premium covering them. 20


C & F contracts are shipment contracts. The term means that the price fixed includes in a lump sum the cost of the goods and freight to the named destination. 21 It simply means that the seller must pay the costs and freight necessary to bring the goods to the named destination but the risk of loss or damage to the goods is transferred from the seller to the buyer when the goods pass the ship's rail in the port of shipment. 22


Moreover, the issue of lack of insurable interest was not among the defenses averred in petitioners answer. It was neither an issue agreed upon by the parties at the pre-trial conference nor was it raised during the trial in the court below. It is a settled rule that an issue which has not been raised in the court a quo cannot be raised for the first time on appeal as it would be offensive to the basic rules of fair play, justice and due process. 23 This is but a permuted restatement of the long settled rule that when a party deliberately adopts a certain theory, and the case is tried and decided upon that theory in the court below, he will not be permitted to change his theory on appeal because, to permit him to do so, would be unfair to the adverse party. 24


If despite the fundamental doctrines just stated, we nevertheless decided to indite a disquisition on the issue of insurable interest raised by petitioner, it was to put at rest all doubts on the matter under the facts in this case and also to dispose of petitioner's third assignment of error which consequently needs no further discussion.


WHEREFORE, the instant petition is DENIED and the assailed decision of the respondent Court of Appeals is AFFIRMED in toto.


SO ORDERED.


Paras, Padilla and Sarmiento, JJ., concur.


Melencio-Herrera (Chairperson), J., is on leave.





Footnotes


1 Rollo, 41; Justice Gonzaga-Reyes, ponente, with Justices Serafin E. Camilon and Pedro A. Ramirez concurring.


2 Rollo, 26-28.


3 Ibid., 8-29.


4 Ibid., 10-11.


5 Original Record, Civil Case No. (112091) R-81-750, 26.


6 29A Am. Jur., 308-309.


7 Phoenix Ins. Co. vs. Branch (Fla. App) 234 So 2d 396.


8 Morrison Grain Co. vs. Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (.1 980, CA S Fla.) 632 F. 2d 424


9 Gilmore and Black, The Law of Admiralty, 68,169.


10 See Footnote 8, ante.


11 49 Phil. 753 (1926).


12 Walker vs. Traveller's Indemnity Co., (La. App.) 289 So. 2nd 864,869.


13 Goix vs. Knox, 1 Johns. Cas. 337, cited in Words and Phrases, Permanent Ed., Vol. 3, (1953 ed.) 310.


14 Rollo, 32.


15 Pacific Banking Corp. vs. Court of Appeals, G.R. No. 41014, Nov. 28,1988.


16 43 Am. Jur. 2d, 507-508.


17 Sec. 14, Insurance Code.


18 Original Record, Folder of Exhibits, Exh. C-2, 6.


19 43 Am. Jur. 2d, 522; Vance on Insurance, 164-168.


20 Rattan Arts & Decorations, Inc. vs. Collector of Internal Revenue, et al., 13 SCRA 626 (1965).


21 Business Law Principles and Cases by Harold Luck, Charles M. Hewitt, John D. Donnel, and A. James Barns, Second Uniform Commercial Code Edition, 751-752.


22 Guide to INCO Terms, 1980 Ed., 48-50.


23 De Los Santos vs. Court of Appeals, et al., 140 SCRA 44 (1985); Dulos Realty & Development Corp. vs. Court of Appeals, et al., 157 SCRA 425 (1988); Ramos, et al. vs. Intermediate Appellate Court, et. al. G.R. No. 78282, July 5,1989.


24 Molina vs. Somes, 24 Phil. 49 (1913); Agoncillo, et al. vs. Javier, 38 Phil, 424 (1918).

Jurisprudence: G.R. No. 85141

SECOND DIVISION
G.R. No. 85141 November 28, 1989
FILIPINO MERCHANTS INSURANCE CO., INC., petitioner,
vs.
COURT OF APPEALS and CHOA TIEK SENG, respondents.
Balgos & Perez Law Offices for petitioner.
Lapuz Law office for private respondent.

REGALADO, J.:
This is a review of the decision of the Court of Appeals, promulgated on July 19,1988, the dispositive part of which reads:
WHEREFORE, the judgment appealed from is affirmed insofar as it orders defendant Filipino Merchants Insurance Company to pay the plaintiff the sum of P51,568.62 with interest at legal rate from the date of filing of the complaint, and is modified with respect to the third party complaint in that (1) third party defendant E. Razon, Inc. is ordered to reimburse third party plaintiff the sum of P25,471.80 with legal interest from the date of payment until the date of reimbursement, and (2) the third-party complaint against third party defendant Compagnie Maritime Des Chargeurs Reunis is dismissed. 1
The facts as found by the trial court and adopted by the Court of Appeals are as follows:
This is an action brought by the consignee of the shipment of fishmeal loaded on board the vessel SS Bougainville and unloaded at the Port of Manila on or about December 11, 1976 and seeks to recover from the defendant insurance company the amount of P51,568.62 representing damages to said shipment which has been insured by the defendant insurance company under Policy No. M-2678. The defendant brought a third party complaint against third party defendants Compagnie Maritime Des Chargeurs Reunis and/or E. Razon, Inc. seeking judgment against the third (sic) defendants in case Judgment is rendered against the third party plaintiff. It appears from the evidence presented that in December 1976, plaintiff insured said shipment with defendant insurance company under said cargo Policy No. M-2678 for the sum of P267,653.59 for the goods described as 600 metric tons of fishmeal in new gunny bags of 90 kilos each from Bangkok, Thailand to Manila against all risks under warehouse to warehouse terms. Actually, what was imported was 59.940 metric tons not 600 tons at $395.42 a ton CNF Manila. The fishmeal in 666 new gunny bags were unloaded from the ship on December 11, 1976 at Manila unto the arrastre contractor E. Razon, Inc. and defendant's surveyor ascertained and certified that in such discharge 105 bags were in bad order condition as jointly surveyed by the ship's agent and the arrastre contractor. The condition of the bad order was reflected in the turn over survey report of Bad Order cargoes Nos. 120320 to 120322, as Exhibit C-4 consisting of three (3) pages which are also Exhibits 4, 5 and 6- Razon. The cargo was also surveyed by the arrastre contractor before delivery of the cargo to the consignee and the condition of the cargo on such delivery was reflected in E. Razon's Bad Order Certificate No. 14859, 14863 and 14869 covering a total of 227 bags in bad order condition. Defendant's surveyor has conducted a final and detailed survey of the cargo in the warehouse for which he prepared a survey report Exhibit F with the findings on the extent of shortage or loss on the bad order bags totalling 227 bags amounting to 12,148 kilos, Exhibit F-1. Based on said computation the plaintiff made a formal claim against the defendant Filipino Merchants Insurance Company for P51,568.62 (Exhibit C) the computation of which claim is contained therein. A formal claim statement was also presented by the plaintiff against the vessel dated December 21, 1976, Exhibit B, but the defendant Filipino Merchants Insurance Company refused to pay the claim. Consequently, the plaintiff brought an action against said defendant as adverted to above and defendant presented a third party complaint against the vessel and the arrastre contractor. 2
The court below, after trial on the merits, rendered judgment in favor of private respondent, the decretal portion whereof reads:
WHEREFORE, on the main complaint, judgment is hereby rendered in favor of the plaintiff and against the defendant Filipino Merchant's (sic) Insurance Co., ordering the defendants to pay the plaintiff the following amount:
The sum of P51,568.62 with interest at legal rate from the date of the filing of the complaint;
On the third party complaint, the third party defendant Compagnie Maritime Des Chargeurs Reunis and third party defendant E. Razon, Inc. are ordered to pay to the third party plaintiff jointly and severally reimbursement of the amounts paid by the third party plaintiff with legal interest from the date of such payment until the date of such reimbursement.
Without pronouncement as to costs. 3
On appeal, the respondent court affirmed the decision of the lower court insofar as the award on the complaint is concerned and modified the same with regard to the adjudication of the third-party complaint. A motion for reconsideration of the aforesaid decision was denied, hence this petition with the following assignment of errors:
1. The Court of Appeals erred in its interpretation and application of the "all risks" clause of the marine insurance policy when it held the petitioner liable to the private respondent for the partial loss of the cargo, notwithstanding the clear absence of proof of some fortuitous event, casualty, or accidental cause to which the loss is attributable, thereby contradicting the very precedents cited by it in its decision as well as a prior decision of the same Division of the said court (then composed of Justices Cacdac, Castro-Bartolome, and Pronove);
2. The Court of Appeals erred in not holding that the private respondent had no insurable interest in the subject cargo, hence, the marine insurance policy taken out by private respondent is null and void;
3. The Court of Appeals erred in not holding that the private respondent was guilty of fraud in not disclosing the fact, it being bound out of utmost good faith to do so, that it had no insurable interest in the subject cargo, which bars its recovery on the policy. 4
On the first assignment of error, petitioner contends that an "all risks" marine policy has a technical meaning in insurance in that before a claim can be compensable it is essential that there must be "some fortuity, " "casualty" or "accidental cause" to which the alleged loss is attributable and the failure of herein private respondent, upon whom lay the burden, to adduce evidence showing that the alleged loss to the cargo in question was due to a fortuitous event precludes his right to recover from the insurance policy. We find said contention untenable.
The "all risks clause" of the Institute Cargo Clauses read as follows:
5. This insurance is against all risks of loss or damage to the subject-matter insured but shall in no case be deemed to extend to cover loss, damage, or expense proximately caused by delay or inherent vice or nature of the subject-matter insured. Claims recoverable hereunder shall be payable irrespective of percentage. 5
An "all risks policy" should be read literally as meaning all risks whatsoever and covering all losses by an accidental cause of any kind. The terms "accident" and "accidental", as used in insurance contracts, have not acquired any technical meaning. They are construed by the courts in their ordinary and common acceptance. Thus, the terms have been taken to mean that which happens by chance or fortuitously, without intention and design, and which is unexpected, unusual and unforeseen. An accident is an event that takes place without one's foresight or expectation; an event that proceeds from an unknown cause, or is an unusual effect of a known cause and, therefore, not expected.6
The very nature of the term "all risks" must be given a broad and comprehensive meaning as covering any loss other than a willful and fraudulent act of the insured. 7 This is pursuant to the very purpose of an "all risks" insurance to give protection to the insured in those cases where difficulties of logical explanation or some mystery surround the loss or damage to property. 8 An "all asks" policy has been evolved to grant greater protection than that afforded by the "perils clause," in order to assure that no loss can happen through the incidence of a cause neither insured against nor creating liability in the ship; it is written against all losses, that is, attributable to external causes. 9
The term "all risks" cannot be given a strained technical meaning, the language of the clause under the Institute Cargo Clauses being unequivocal and clear, to the effect that it extends to all damages/losses suffered by the insured cargo except (a) loss or damage or expense proximately caused by delay, and (b) loss or damage or expense proximately caused by the inherent vice or nature of the subject matter insured.
Generally, the burden of proof is upon the insured to show that a loss arose from a covered peril, but under an "all risks" policy the burden is not on the insured to prove the precise cause of loss or damage for which it seeks compensation. The insured under an "all risks insurance policy" has the initial burden of proving that the cargo was in good condition when the policy attached and that the cargo was damaged when unloaded from the vessel; thereafter, the burden then shifts to the insurer to show the exception to the coverage. 10 As we held in Paris-Manila Perfumery Co. vs. Phoenix Assurance Co., Ltd. 11 the basic rule is that the insurance company has the burden of proving that the loss is caused by the risk excepted and for want of such proof, the company is liable.
Coverage under an "all risks" provision of a marine insurance policy creates a special type of insurance which extends coverage to risks not usually contemplated and avoids putting upon the insured the burden of establishing that the loss was due to the peril falling within the policy's coverage; the insurer can avoid coverage upon demonstrating that a specific provision expressly excludes the loss from coverage. 12 A marine insurance policy providing that the insurance was to be "against all risks" must be construed as creating a special insurance and extending to other risks than are usually contemplated, and covers all losses except such as arise from the fraud of the insured. 13 The burden of the insured, therefore, is to prove merely that the goods he transported have been lost, destroyed or deteriorated. Thereafter, the burden is shifted to the insurer to prove that the loss was due to excepted perils. To impose on the insured the burden of proving the precise cause of the loss or damage would be inconsistent with the broad protective purpose of "all risks" insurance.
In the present case, there being no showing that the loss was caused by any of the excepted perils, the insurer is liable under the policy. As aptly stated by the respondent Court of Appeals, upon due consideration of the authorities and jurisprudence it discussed —
... it is believed that in the absence of any showing that the losses/damages were caused by an excepted peril, i.e. delay or the inherent vice or nature of the subject matter insured, and there is no such showing, the lower court did not err in holding that the loss was covered by the policy.
There is no evidence presented to show that the condition of the gunny bags in which the fishmeal was packed was such that they could not hold their contents in the course of the necessary transit, much less any evidence that the bags of cargo had burst as the result of the weakness of the bags themselves. Had there been such a showing that spillage would have been a certainty, there may have been good reason to plead that there was no risk covered by the policy (See Berk vs. Style [1956] cited in Marine Insurance Claims, Ibid, p. 125). Under an 'all risks' policy, it was sufficient to show that there was damage occasioned by some accidental cause of any kind, and there is no necessity to point to any particular cause. 14
Contracts of insurance are contracts of indemnity upon the terms and conditions specified in the policy. The agreement has the force of law between the parties. The terms of the policy constitute the measure of the insurer's liability. If such terms are clear and unambiguous, they must be taken and understood in their plain, ordinary and popular sense. 15
Anent the issue of insurable interest, we uphold the ruling of the respondent court that private respondent, as consignee of the goods in transit under an invoice containing the terms under "C & F Manila," has insurable interest in said goods.
Section 13 of the Insurance Code defines insurable interest in property as every interest in property, whether real or personal, or any relation thereto, or liability in respect thereof, of such nature that a contemplated peril might directly damnify the insured. In principle, anyone has an insurable interest in property who derives a benefit from its existence or would suffer loss from its destruction whether he has or has not any title in, or lien upon or possession of the property y. 16 Insurable interest in property may consist in (a) an existing interest; (b) an inchoate interest founded on an existing interest; or (c) an expectancy, coupled with an existing interest in that out of which the expectancy arises.17
Herein private respondent, as vendee/consignee of the goods in transit has such existing interest therein as may be the subject of a valid contract of insurance. His interest over the goods is based on the perfected contract of sale. 18 The perfected contract of sale between him and the shipper of the goods operates to vest in him an equitable title even before delivery or before be performed the conditions of the sale. 19 The contract of shipment, whether under F.O.B., C.I.F., or C. & F. as in this case, is immaterial in the determination of whether the vendee has an insurable interest or not in the goods in transit. The perfected contract of sale even without delivery vests in the vendee an equitable title, an existing interest over the goods sufficient to be the subject of insurance.
Further, Article 1523 of the Civil Code provides that where, in pursuance of a contract of sale, the seller is authorized or required to send the goods to the buyer, delivery of the goods to a carrier, whether named by the buyer or not, for, the purpose of transmission to the buyer is deemed to be a delivery of the goods to the buyer, the exceptions to said rule not obtaining in the present case. The Court has heretofore ruled that the delivery of the goods on board the carrying vessels partake of the nature of actual delivery since, from that time, the foreign buyers assumed the risks of loss of the goods and paid the insurance premium covering them. 20
C & F contracts are shipment contracts. The term means that the price fixed includes in a lump sum the cost of the goods and freight to the named destination. 21 It simply means that the seller must pay the costs and freight necessary to bring the goods to the named destination but the risk of loss or damage to the goods is transferred from the seller to the buyer when the goods pass the ship's rail in the port of shipment. 22
Moreover, the issue of lack of insurable interest was not among the defenses averred in petitioners answer. It was neither an issue agreed upon by the parties at the pre-trial conference nor was it raised during the trial in the court below. It is a settled rule that an issue which has not been raised in the court a quo cannot be raised for the first time on appeal as it would be offensive to the basic rules of fair play, justice and due process. 23 This is but a permuted restatement of the long settled rule that when a party deliberately adopts a certain theory, and the case is tried and decided upon that theory in the court below, he will not be permitted to change his theory on appeal because, to permit him to do so, would be unfair to the adverse party. 24
If despite the fundamental doctrines just stated, we nevertheless decided to indite a disquisition on the issue of insurable interest raised by petitioner, it was to put at rest all doubts on the matter under the facts in this case and also to dispose of petitioner's third assignment of error which consequently needs no further discussion.
WHEREFORE, the instant petition is DENIED and the assailed decision of the respondent Court of Appeals is AFFIRMED in toto.
SO ORDERED.
Paras, Padilla and Sarmiento, JJ., concur.
Melencio-Herrera (Chairperson), J., is on leave.

Footnotes
1 Rollo, 41; Justice Gonzaga-Reyes, ponente, with Justices Serafin E. Camilon and Pedro A. Ramirez concurring.
2 Rollo, 26-28.
3 Ibid., 8-29.
4 Ibid., 10-11.
5 Original Record, Civil Case No. (112091) R-81-750, 26.
6 29A Am. Jur., 308-309.
7 Phoenix Ins. Co. vs. Branch (Fla. App) 234 So 2d 396.
8 Morrison Grain Co. vs. Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (.1 980, CA S Fla.) 632 F. 2d 424
9 Gilmore and Black, The Law of Admiralty, 68,169.
10 See Footnote 8, ante.
11 49 Phil. 753 (1926).
12 Walker vs. Traveller's Indemnity Co., (La. App.) 289 So. 2nd 864,869.
13 Goix vs. Knox, 1 Johns. Cas. 337, cited in Words and Phrases, Permanent Ed., Vol. 3, (1953 ed.) 310.
14 Rollo, 32.
15 Pacific Banking Corp. vs. Court of Appeals, G.R. No. 41014, Nov. 28,1988.
16 43 Am. Jur. 2d, 507-508.
17 Sec. 14, Insurance Code.
18 Original Record, Folder of Exhibits, Exh. C-2, 6.
19 43 Am. Jur. 2d, 522; Vance on Insurance, 164-168.
20 Rattan Arts & Decorations, Inc. vs. Collector of Internal Revenue, et al., 13 SCRA 626 (1965).
21 Business Law Principles and Cases by Harold Luck, Charles M. Hewitt, John D. Donnel, and A. James Barns, Second Uniform Commercial Code Edition, 751-752.
22 Guide to INCO Terms, 1980 Ed., 48-50.
23 De Los Santos vs. Court of Appeals, et al., 140 SCRA 44 (1985); Dulos Realty & Development Corp. vs. Court of Appeals, et al., 157 SCRA 425 (1988); Ramos, et al. vs. Intermediate Appellate Court, et. al. G.R. No. 78282, July 5,1989.
24 Molina vs. Somes, 24 Phil. 49 (1913); Agoncillo, et al. vs. Javier, 38 Phil, 424 (1918).